Welcome to Roosevelt STAY Library Central: CITATION & PLAGIARISM

ARE PRESIDENTIAL SPEECHES COPYRIGHTED?

Are presidential speeches like Obama's inaugural speech or the Gettysburg Address copyright protected? New Media Rights explains what speeches are public domain and reusable in your own work.

Reprinted from: New Media Rights Youtube channel

YOU QUOTE IT, YOU NOTE IT!
(Take this fun test from Acadia University)

For use when self-generating citations of any resource type.

JUST CLICK IMAGE AND START CHECKING!

ARE SPEECHES PUBLIC DOMAIN?

Are historical speeches like Martin Luther King Jr.'s "I Have a Dream Speech" in the public domain (copyright free)? New Media Rights will tell you everything you need to start reusing speeches legally in your own work

Twitter: http://twitter.com/newmediarights
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/newmediarights
Website: http://newmediarights.org

Here's a link to the Martin Luther King Jr. case: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Estate_o....

And a link to the US Copyright Office search page:
http://www.copyright.gov/records/

New Media Rights is a non-profit that provides free legal assistance to independent creators and Internet consumers

Reprinted from: New Media Rights Youtube channel

Citation*

A citation is a way to make a reference, in short form, to a source of information you paraphrase, quote or otherwise gather in researching and preparing an information product.

Information Product

The work you author/create to communicate your research findings (i.e. essay, PowerPoint, video, speech).

Collusion*

Collusion refers to supporting another student's malpractice. Letting someone copy your work is an example of collusion.

Paraphrasing*

Explaining in your own words the meaning of a text.

Plagiarism*

Plagiarism occurs when you do not cite the source of your information. It looks like you're the author of the information you're presenting in your paper.  

Duplication*

Submitting the same work for different assessments

Works Cited

List of any documents or other sources you quoted or used in writing your work. Usually found at the end of your work.

Bibliography

List of resources on a particular subject or by a particular author.  May be presented as part of an information product or as a standalone product.

*SOURCE: Chioini, Mario.  American School of Paris Library Program.

Online Writing Lab (OWL) from Purdue University

From Purdue University, OWL provides up to date print and electronic resources on citations and contains useful handouts.

 OWL handout on MLA style

 OWL handout on citing electronic resources

 OWL Powerpoint describing MLA citation style.
 

MLA Works Cited Page: Basic Format

According to MLA style, you must have a Works Cited page at the end of your research paper. All entries in the Works Cited page must correspond to the works cited in your main text.

Basic rules

• Begin your Works Cited page on a separate page at the end of your research paper. It should have the same one-inch margins and last name, page number header as the rest of your paper.
• Label the page Works Cited (do not italicize the words Works Cited or put them in quotation marks) and center the words Works Cited at the top of the page.
• Double space all citations, but do not skip spaces between entries.
• Indent the second and subsequent lines of citations by 0.5 inches to create a hanging indent.
• List page numbers of sources efficiently, when needed. If you refer to a journal article that appeared on pages 225 through 250, list the page numbers on your Works Cited page as 225-50. Note that MLA style uses a hyphen in a span of pages.

Additional basic rules new to MLA 2009

     New to MLA 2009:

• For every entry, you must determine the Medium of Publication. Most entries will likely be listed as Print or Web sources, but other possibilities may include Film, CD-ROM, or DVD.
• Writers are no longer required to provide URLs for Web entries. However, if your instructor or publisher insists on them, include them in angle brackets after the entry and end with a period. For long URLs, break lines only at slashes.
• If you're citing an article or a publication that was originally issued in print form but that you retrieved from an online database, you should type the online database name in italics. You do not need to provide subscription information in addition to the database name.

Capitalization and punctuation

• Capitalize each word in the titles of articles, books, etc, but do not capitalize articles (the, an), prepositions, or conjunctions unless one is the first word of the title or subtitle: Gone with the Wind, The Art of War, There Is Nothing Left to Lose.
• New to MLA 2009: Use italics (instead of underlining) for titles of larger works (books, magazines) and quotation marks for titles of shorter works (poems, articles)

Listing author names

Entries are listed alphabetically by the author's last name (or, for entire edited collections, editor names). Author names are written last name first; middle names or middle initials follow the first name:

Burke, Kenneth

Levy, David M.

Wallace, David Foster

Do not list titles (Dr., Sir, Saint, etc.) or degrees (PhD, MA, DDS, etc.) with names. A book listing an author named "John Bigbrain, PhD" appears simply as "Bigbrain, John"; do, however, include suffixes like "Jr." or "II." Putting it all together, a work by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. would be cited as "King, Martin Luther, Jr." Here the suffix following the first or middle name and a comma.

More than one work by an author

If you have cited more than one work by a particular author, order the entries alphabetically by title, and use three hyphens in place of the author's name for every entry after the first:

Burke, Kenneth. A Grammar of Motives. [...]

---. A Rhetoric of Motives. [...]

When an author or collection editor appears both as the sole author of a text and as the first author of a group, list solo-author entries first:

Heller, Steven, ed. The Education of an E-Designer. 

Heller, Steven, and Karen Pomeroy. Design Literacy: Understanding Graphic Design.

Work with no known author

Alphabetize works with no known author by their title; use a shortened version of the title in the parenthetical citations in your paper. In this case, Boring Postcards USA has no known author:

Baudrillard, Jean. Simulacra and Simulations. [...]

Boring Postcards USA. [...]

Burke, Kenneth. A Rhetoric of Motives. [...]

Contributors:Tony Russell, Allen Brizee, Elizabeth Angeli, Russell Keck, Joshua M. Paiz, Purdue OWL Staff.
Summary:

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7^th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3^rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.

SOURCE: (https://owl.english.purdue.edu/).