Welcome to Roosevelt STAY Library Central: RESOURCES

WIkipedia is a popular information resource. It has articles on a wide variety of subjects but use with caution.  Even wikipedia does not guarantee the validity of information on its site.  See their disclaimer below.

 These online databases and websites provide access to a wealth of resources to help with academic and personal information gathering.  Their sources are vetted (checked for accuracy). 

To access from home, see your teacher or media specialist for username and password.

	DC Public Library Databases	This site provides access to all DC Public Library databases. To login, students need a library card or their DC One Card ID.
	http://www.jstor.org	This database provides access to numerous professional and academic journals.(Use your DC One Card log-in or Public Library Card ID)
	Gale Databases@DCPL	Very similar to EBSCO, Gale databases @ the DC Public library provide access to a variety of vetted information resources on most subjects.  This page provides links to those databases..  I recommend "Student Edition" as the place to start.
	http://www.bydewey.com/virtual.html	This website provides lists of useful websites organized according to the Dewey Decimal Classification system.  This means webpages on the same subjects are grouped together. Very helpful. (No password required)

Your teachers expect you to use vetted sources when developing your research projects (Including essays, powerpoints and documentaries)

All the resource links on this page have been vetted by our librarian and/or DC Public Schools.  Should you choose to "google" your reseach, these sources will help you self-vet,

Life Magazine's archive of historical photographs is vast and goes back to the mid 1700s.  Thanks to Google, this resource is available to us FREE of charge. Just add "source:life" to any Google image search to retrieve only the LIFE magazine photo archive.

For example:

STEP ONE: Go to google.com

STEP TWO: Select "Images" at top of screen

STEP THREE: Type "computer source:life" [Note: no space between : and life]

Using images from these sites protect you from copyright infringement accusations.  Some include source information and citations.

COMING SOON

For today's headlines in the world's top newspapers, visit our "TODAY" libguide. 

This nonprofit organization, founded in 1996, was created to archive websites and other multimedia information that resides on the world wide web.  According to it's website, this archive provides researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public free access to:

• 330 billion web pages
• 20 million books and texts
• 4.5 million audio recordings (including 180,000 live concerts)
• 4 million videos (including 1.6 million Television News programs)
• 3 million images
• 200,000 software programs

Below are rss feeds from the Washington Post.  They update daily.  To read more news from other national and international papers, visit our resource guide, TODAY.

Need Help

in Mathematics 

or Science?

Try Khan Academy.