WIkipedia is a popular information resource. It has articles on a wide variety of subjects but use with caution. Even wikipedia does not guarantee the validity of information on its site. See their disclaimer below.
 |
| Side by Side Shakespeare original text and modern translation (Also other classics such as Scarlet Letter and Canterbury Tales.. |
 |
| Over 40,000 e-books of classical literature whose copyrights have expired in the United States. Download or read online. |
These online databases and websites provide access to a wealth of resources to help with academic and personal information gathering. Their sources are vetted (checked for accuracy).
To access from home, see your teacher or media specialist for username and password.
ProQuest ProQuest is committed to empowering researchers and librarians around the world. Its innovative information content and technologies increase the productivity of students, scholars, professionals and the libraries that serve them.
DC Public Library Databases This site provides access to all DC Public Library databases. To login, students need a library card or their DC One Card ID.
ERIC- is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
JSTOR his database provides access to numerous professional and academic journals.(Use your DC One Card log-in or Public Library Card ID)
JSTOR and ARTSTOR Open Access Our partnerships with libraries and publishers help us make content discoverable and freely accessible worldwide
Gale Databases@DCPL Very similar to EBSCO, Gale databases @ the DC Public library provide access to a variety of vetted information resources on most subjects. This page provides links to those databases.. I recommend "Student Edition" as the place to start.
Gale for High School offers cross-curricular content that reinforces the development of important skills, such as critical thinking, problem solving with content aligned to national and state curriculum standards.
Dewey Decimal Virtual Library This website provides lists of useful websites organized according to the Dewey Decimal Classification system. This means webpages on the same subjects are grouped together. Very helpful. (No password required)
DOAJ The Directory of Open Access Journals is a website that hosts a community-curated list of open access journals, maintained by Infrastructure Services for Open Access
PubMed Central PubMed Central is a free digital repository that archives open access full-text scholarly articles that have been published in biomedical and life sciences journals. As one of the major research databases developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, PubMed Central is more than a document repository.
|
|
Your teachers expect you to use vetted sources when developing your research projects (Including essays, powerpoints and documentaries)
All the resource links on this page have been vetted by our librarian and/or DC Public Schools. Should you choose to "google" your reseach, these sources will help you self-vet,
Life Magazine's archive of historical photographs is vast and goes back to the mid 1700s. Thanks to Google, this resource is available to us FREE of charge. Just add "source:life" to any Google image search to retrieve only the LIFE magazine photo archive.
|
|
|
|
|
|
Using images from these sites protect you from copyright infringement accusations. Some include source information and citations.
This nonprofit organization, founded in 1996, was created to archive websites and other multimedia information that resides on the world wide web. According to it's website, this archive provides researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public free access to:
 |
| Homework Help from Discovery Education. |
 |
| Algebra/Geometry/PreCal Homework Help. Some Videos |
 |
|
AP Calculus Exam Prep from MIT
|
